About Us

The President’s Advisory Committee on Public Art was established in 2006 to

  • Advise the president on matters concerning public art.
  • Guide a strategic approach to the development of the public art environment on campus.
  • Identify high-priority sites for new installations.
  • Review and recommend approaches to the long-term funding of public art.
  • Review proposals for new works or installations of public art, in coordination with the University Planner’s Office (UPO) and other relevant offices and committees, and make recommendations to the president.
  • Advocate for public art and the University’s public art program and assist in the cultivation of resources for public art.


The University of Michigan, as an institution committed to learning, inquiry, and creativity, seeks to provide a rich and variegated campus environment in which members of our community can engage in these activities and be at home in spaces that are uniquely "Michigan." Public art can play a significant part in creating such an environment, an environment conducive to the development of mind, soul, and spirit by our faculty, students and staff. In this respect, the North Campus Sculpture and Public Art Program statement captures very well our guiding philosophy:

The University of Michigan’s outdoor sculpture should be an integral part of the educational and research mission of the university. In addition, it should provide constant visual enjoyment and excitement for members of the university community, the city, and the region.

We wish to develop an approach to public art that will, over time, transform U-M into a university distinguished for its public art environment and that will link art more closely to expression of our academic aspirations. Toward that end, we are establishing a President’s Advisory Committee on Public Art, to help guide our decisions and planning and to facilitate development of a richer and more diverse collection of public art.

View the charge to the committee »

Committee Membership 2016–17

Christina Olsen, Chair
Director and Curator, University of Michigan Museum of Art

Alexander Potts
Max Loehr Collegiate Professor, Department of History of Art, College of Literature, Sciences and the Arts

Barbara Ackley
Assistant Vice President for Development, International Giving and Presidential Development Activities

Liz Barry
Special Counsel to the President

Lee Doyle
Chief Freedom of Information Officer; Director, University of Michigan Film Office; Director, Communications Policy and Administration

Susan Gott
University Planner

James Kosteva
Director of Community Relations

Gary Krenz
Executive Director of the Bicentennial Office and Lecturer I in Philosophy, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Laura Lein
Katherine Reebel Collegiate Professor of Social Work, School of Social Work; Professor of Anthropology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Jerry May
Vice President for Development

Gunalan Nadarajan
Dean and Professor of Art and Design, Penny W. Stamps School of Art and Design

Peter Sparling
Rudolf Arnheim Distinguished Professor of Dance and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Dance, School of Music, Theatre & Dance

Xiaobing Tang
Helmut F. Stern Professor of Modern Chines Studies and Comparative Literature, Asian Languages and Cultures


Jun Kaneko

Recent Installations



Alexander Liberman

Art Spotlight